The life of a not so average girl doing not so average things.

It Happens To The Best Of Us

The internet has been a little sketchy around here lately, so i apologize for the delays in posting.

I’d like to start this post with a little shout-out to my favorite song by Matt Nathanson, Kiss Quick. It’s fabulous. 🙂 It’s been playing pretty much nonstop on my iPod for a while now. Take a listen.

Now on to the real excitement: COOKING! Yaaay!

Now I don’t get to cook very often at school, but here I will be cooking 1-2 times a week at least, so I’ll get to try lots of recipes and build up my collection.

Wednesday was my turn to cook, along with Breezy and Gluteus, and the meal consisted of Chicken Tacos, Mexican Rice, Mexican Salad, and Mexican Mangoes. Are you seeing the trend?

Wait for it.

MEXICAN THEME!

I like themes, ok?

I will speak for each of these recipes personally, they are each delicious! Pictures to follow.

We had a lot of fun. It took about two hours, because of the amount of prep. work that had to be done(cutting fresh produce and such), but it was SOOO worth it. My suggestion, much like my theory on life, don’t go it alone. It’s so much more fun with friends along.

At one point I was concerned that we would have plenty of side dishes, but not enough items for actually in the tacos. B-Pock kind of made a joke about it, because we had just been reading Mark 8 where the Jesus feeds the four thousand and then later the disciples are still concerned about not having bread. Just like in the story, God provided. It seems to have become an unofficial theme for this internship. Oh, look! another theme! Yaaay!

There was a lot of laughter, a lot of chatter, a few slip-ups and many, many memories made.

I’d like to leave you with another song from my perpetual playlist:

Superchick sings a song called Hero(I prefer the Red Pill Remix) that deals with everyday heroes. It speaks to the heart of everyone of us who has fought the ever present urge to take our own lives. Those of you who, like me, have faced that challenge and overcome it, you are heroes.

Reach out to those around you, especially young people. Let them know they are loved and that someone is taking notice. You never know when your voice will be the one that resounds.

-Kay

3 responses

  1. Dinoman and girl

    You are one of those weird people who enjoys cooking? You can come cook for us any time. We’re learning to enjoy it if we do it together, but neither of us is a real fan yet.

    June 23, 2012 at 16:33

  2. I like to cook in themes too!
    Would you like my chicken & noodles receipie? SO YUMMY! It’s my comfort food.

    July 17, 2012 at 11:52

    • Kay

      I ABSOLUTELY WOULD!!! 🙂

      July 17, 2012 at 16:59

Leave a Reply

