The life of a not so average girl doing not so average things.

Sabbath: A Day of Rest

But first, another post about something I’m working on:

Talent Show

What is it?

  • Community Talent Show
  • Mission Bells Fundraiser

When is it?

  • Aug 17th 6-8pm (Tentative)

Where is it?

  • ManpowerGroup Headquarters, Milwaukee

What will I be doing?

  • Holding auditions to find talent show performers
  • Publicizing event
  • Determining performance schedules
  • Preparing Mission Bells advertising materials

Now back to your regularly scheduled blogging

Today was a good day. I may not have mentioned this before, but Tuesdays are Sabbath days for the interns. It’s absolutely glorious. This is really the first time in my life(apart from when I was little, I’m talking way back before the move to The Hill) that I’ve really learned how to appreciate what the word Sabbath entails. This is my day to rest and enjoy living as a part of God’s creation.

I spent today talking with B-Pock, SAMich(she says this is how she envisions her name in her head! Hehe!), and Breezy. I also got a little reading in on one of the books for the summer, In His Steps, I did some laundry(I get to use a clothes line! Yay! They’re not allowed in our subdivision at home. Boo.), caught up on some blog reading, wrote some guest post type material for a friend’s blog, and took some time to reflect on the ways that I’ve grown and done some healing over the last few years.

Speaking of…

I read through some of my older posts and it really made me appreciate where I’m at in my life. Even on a bad day, I don’t feel total despair. My cleaning/self-therapy sessions are much fewer and farther between, I’m happier, I’m not angsting about my relationship, etc., etc.. Yes, I get frustrated. Yes, I question what I’m supposed to be doing with my life. But when was the last time you read one of these posts and thought, “Oh, man. This girl really needs to get help before her depression spirals out of control!” or “Man, Kay, I had no idea you were going through that tough thing”? Probably not in a while.

LIFE IS GOOD!

In honor of this post about happiness, here are some things that make me happy. 🙂

A picture of my youngest cousin, Bri, and myself.

A picture of the house keys that we, as new residents of the farm, recieved today.

A picture of me, doing that half smile thing that I do, because I’m still learning everyday that I am beautifully and wonderfully made.

 

-Kay

 

One response

  1. Kay,
    You ARE a beautiful person….remember that!

    June 6, 2012 at 09:56

Leave a Reply

