The life of a not so average girl doing not so average things.

Christian Disciple Farm

 

What is it?

  • Week long day camp for children and teens with special needs
  • Campers are guided by their buddy and group to different stations including Bible story, music, games, rock climbing, fishing, horseback riding, etc.

When is it?

  • August 6ht-10th

Where is it?

  • Raspberry Hill Farm (That’s where I am!)

Cost?

  • $30 per camper(maximum $120 per family)

What will I be doing?

  • Inventory of supplies
  • Contacting previous volunteers
  • Promoting event to church groups
  • Preparing farm

So my new friend, B-Pock, and I spent our first Sabbath together. The interns have Tuesdays off, because we’ll be helping out with church and other intern-y things on Sundays. Well, so far there are 5 of the 6 interns here and B-Pock and I are the out-of-towners(She’s from Illinois); everyone else went home for the day and she and I stuck around the farm.

One of the very exciting things we did today was take our first successful road trip! We borrowed the HHR(that’s what The Director calls it, so I assume that’s the model) and drove about 10 minutes to a little town called Palmyra. The point of this endeavor? To find myself a toothbrush! Yes, while I have about 6 toothbrushes at home(hanging out in different overnight bags and such, so that I never forget it), none managed to find their way to Wisconsin with me. Not to fear, I’ve been using the good ol’ Girl Scout trick of brushing with your finger.

Don’t judge, it’s resourceful!

OH! And I tried Zumba for the first time tonight! How fun is that?! Much more of a workout than I anticipated, but great fun nonetheless!

Anyway, we had a lot of fun and we talked a lot AND we didn’t get lost a single time! I think she and I are going to be great friends by the end of this thing. I can’t wait to get to know the other girls as well.

I may not post for a few days, because we’ll be up at the Wisconsin Annual Conference(Yes, the same as the Missouri Annual Conference,  but obviously not in Missouri). So stay tuned for exciting posts about that!

-Kay

One response

  1. Sounds like you are having a GREAT time!
    Post some farm pics! 🙂

    May 30, 2012 at 08:57

Leave a Reply

