The life of a not so average girl doing not so average things.

WISCONSIN!!!

Ok, readers, there are six days until I leave for Milwaukee!!! Get excited with me, folks! The best part about you guys is that I know I don’t have to tell you to get excited, you already are. You people make me so dang happy.
So. Six days. Roughly 152 hours until I board my plane for THE BIGGEST adventure of my life thus far. Many friends and family members have asked me just what exactly I will be doing up in good ol’ WI. Well, that’s kind of a tough question to answer, as the interns don’t have to participate in every activity. But basically it looks like I will be helping some as a camp counselor, helping with retreats and VBSs and Bile studies. I’ll be learning about program development and advertising on a budget. Every single thing I will be doing is practical, hands-on experience for youth and children’s ministry.
Like I said, super duper excited! It’s kind of nerve racking though, going into a situation where I will be working and LIVING with people I’ve never met before. We have friend requested each other on Facebook, so I know the other interns are female and college age as well, but other than that, they’re blank slates in my mind.
As I was sitting here working on this post, BigSis walked in and asked me what I was doing. When I told her and informed here where we were at on the countdown, she started to tear up. She’s not exactly ready for me to be going off on my own, mostly she’s not ready for me to go away for long at a time. She doesn’t like to talk about seminary with me, because it reminds her that in a year or so I will, hopefully, be in New Jersey or Chicago or in any of the cities with seminaries. This internship reminds her that that is coming closer everyday. It also means that we won’t be able to catch up on what time we miss with each other when I’m at school. But she’s also really excited for me, and proud. She knows this is the perfect fit for me, and she’s proud, because she knows how big this is for me and how hard I’ve worked to get to this point. She also knows this boosts my chances at Princeton. πŸ˜‰
Anyway, I’m excited, you’re excited, my friends and family are excited. This is going to be one fantastic summer. πŸ™‚ I’m going to try to keep everyone updated on what’s going on and how I’m doing, I’m hoping that will include blog posts. But just in case it’s not possible to keep up with emails and letters AND blogging, comment with your email address, or send me an email, to let me know you want on the email list.
Thanks everyone for all your love, your support, your kind words, and your prayers! You do so much for me emotionally and spiritually and it means the world to me. You’re the best readers a blogger could ask for. πŸ™‚
-Kay

Leave a Reply

