The life of a not so average girl doing not so average things.

Though Storms May Shake My Inmost Calm*

*While to that rock I’m clinging

No, I’m not in a particularly stormy season in my life, that song just happens to be stuck in my head. Ok, so it MIGHT have something to do with the fact that SAI is singing it at our American Music Recital in a few weeks, but that’s really beside the point. 😉

I’m doing quite well. Those of you who see me everyday at school, however, get to witness my every day frustrations. Yay for you! I’m really sorry about that, I need to work harder to keep those, sometimes aggressive, outbursts of frustration to myself.

I’ve just been getting a lot of lies and back-stabbing from people who I thought were good friends of mine. In one particular case, I think the individual is still upset over a misunderstanding had between the two of us. I’m not sorry for what I said, because it was in line and a part of my job, but I am sorry that it came across the way it did. What is most upsetting is that the individual then said some things that I believe were said just to hurt me. And initially they did, but then I found out that the things the individual had said… Well, they weren’t true…

That hurts. Especially since what was said is that another friend of mine was disappointed in me. That second friend said she never said that and was, in fact, quite proud of me.

I wish that people would stop lying to me, it’s been occurring with more frequency and it’s really starting to tick me off. I also wish that the people lying to me didn’t think I was stupid; if you’re going to lie, make sure your “backbone from a distance” isn’t someone I talk to regularly.

There’s a remarkable quote from The Kite Runner that has stuck with me since I first read the novel:

“There is only one sin, only one. And that is theft. Every other sin is a variation of theft… When you kill a man, you steal a life. You steal his wife’s right to a husband, rob his children of a father. When you tell a lie, you steal someone’s right to the truth. When you cheat, you steal the right to fairness.”

I’ll leave that tickle your brains for a while.

-Kay

One response

  1. LOVE that book!
    Sorry people are so wrapped in their own agendas and cannot see the big picture.

    March 28, 2012 at 10:07

Leave a Reply

