The life of a not so average girl doing not so average things.

Numero Uno*

*See? I’m learning something in Spanish!! 🙂

I love people. I am a people person. And I like to believe that I am pretty generous and caring when it comes to other people. I like putting others needs first, it makes me feel good. But to what extent do I neglect my own needs for the sake of another.

My room should be my sanctuary. It isn’t. I hate being in here. Would you like to know why? My roommate! I love her to death, but she has made this such a depressing and negative atmosphere that I dread walking through that door. I have been patient as she goes through this rough patch, because we all remember when I was there this time last year. I’ve tried to be a good friend, to give her comfort and love and whatever other help I could offer, but she doesn’t seem to want to make things better. She says she does, she says she’s trying, but at this point, from my end of things, it looks like she just keeps perpetuating the situation for attention.

I hate to say that. I feel like a terrible person for saying that. But I cannot stand being in this room or around her, because all I every hear is, “today I broke down because of this this and this…” or “I don’t like that, because then I have to close to people and I can’t do that because of my issues.” And when I offer advice or a solution, does she do any of it? No. Because “I just can’t.” That is not the attitude of someone who is trying. I’m sorry, it isn’t.

Moral of the story? I will not be living with her next year. I’m done. I need out for my own sanity.

Remember when you all heard me saying how I just needed to get back to school to get away from all of this kind of stuff back home? Yeah. Now I’m jumping for joy every time I have the chance to go back home, because it means I’m away from here for a few days.

-A fed up roommate

2 responses

  1. Dinoman

    Sounds like a catch-22. Good luck and hang in there, my friend!

    November 11, 2011 at 06:21

  2. BigSis

    I love you!! Hang in there! Let me know if you need anything even if it is just to vent

    November 11, 2011 at 20:11

Leave a Reply

