The life of a not so average girl doing not so average things.

You Dance Like A Queen*

*Thriving Ivory’s song “Secret Life” is really touching me tonight. I’m not entirely sure why.

Life is definitely changing. I look at this semester, the way I’m interacting with people, the change in the way I conduct my relationships and the people they are with and I realize… I’m becoming an adult. I’ve always felt like I was a fairly mature individual for my age, but often times now I feel out of place with people my own age. Recently I’ve noticed that I’m seeking out people that are more responsible, more hard-working, and generally more prepared. That doesn’t really capture it. It’s like I’m irritated when people are incoherent. I want them to act out the things they say they believe. I also want them to stop looking at one situation and saying one thing and then looking at a similar situation and saying(or doing) the exact opposite. Your views shouldn’t change based on the people you’re interacting with. It makes you inconsistent and apparently I don’t like that.

Sorry for the rant. I needed to get that off my chest. Growing up is hard. It makes you realize that you have to start cutting certain types of people and relationships out of your life, because they are either unproductive or destructive. Sometimes you realize that you’ve been in an unproductive or destructive relationship for years. It’s hard to walk away from that relationship, and it doesn’t have to happen over-night, but ultimately it seems necessary to cut away the things in your life that aren’t helping you develop into a productive, healthy, and ultimately better person.

This is some of what I’ve been dealing with this semester. It’s tough stuff.

-Kay

Leave a Reply

