The life of a not so average girl doing not so average things.

I Know It’s Late

Yes, it’s nearly 2:30 am here, but here I sit with a brain that won’t shut off. God has been showing me some things this evening and I had to get those things written down before I forgot. I think I’m on my way to figuring out what I’ll be preaching about over the course of the month of June this summer.

So far my theme is Reaching Beyond. I think the first week will be about ministering to our families. The next week will be about ministering to our neighbors. The next, ministering to our nation and the next, to our world. It’s still a work in progress, but God put that on my heart this evening and I’m going to run with it.

I also want t do a Bible study or a Sunday School class or SOMETHING over the book Out Live Your Life by Max Lucado. I got it for Christmas from my parents and I’ve read snippets from it before, but tonight I was feeling really restless and I sat down to read through this book and realized that God had been calling me to some things that I had been ignoring.

I’m also fairly convinced at this point that adoption is featured somewhere in my future. For over a year now God has been bringing the topic of someday adopting children to the forefront of my thoughts. I can’t shake the feeling. I need to help the orphans of the world. A little ambitious? Maybe, but somebody’s got to reach out to them. If I do my own small part, if everyone does their own small part, the world will be a changed place.

One of my favorite quotes is from Gandhi, “Be the change you wish to see in the world.” I like trying to live my life by that. It makes me feel like I’m actually making a difference, even if I can’t see the product.

-Kay

Leave a Reply

