The life of a not so average girl doing not so average things.

Out Of My Control

Currently, the lesson I am learning is that somethings are beyond my control and although I would like to help, there isn’t much I can do.

This feeling, it sucks. Big time. Especially since the one that must face these things beyond my control is The Nerdmate, which means that, inadvertently, it most certainly is effecting me.

Again, this isn’t really something I can write much about, because it’s not my place to go spreading his business around simply because it makes me feel better to talk things out.

Ugh! I just don’t know how to help. It’s not like he’s not trying. There are some areas that he could improve, but he knows that and I’m not sure how to be encouraging without it coming across as nagging. And the other stuff that he’s facing I CAN’T be of help, because it’s out of my power. Even if I could help, I don’t think he would accept my help, because it would be too much like charity.

so I’m stuck feeling like a broken record, repeatedly telling him that it will work out. Yay me.

I know it’s going to be difficult to give me advice on account of how vague this all is, but if you have any advice to offer, any at all, I’m more than willing to listen.

-Kay

One response

  1. Yes, it is tough to know what to say due to the vagueness, but I will give you my general ideas. Be there for him for support. Make sure he knows you are there for him. If there are tangible things you can do for him, offer but don’t push. I can’t tell for sure what you mean about the “areas he could improve.” However, if those areas are things that impact you that you would like him to change, my thoughts are to let him know what specific behaviours you would prefer from him. Then, give him the space and time to do those things. Feel free to email me if you think it might help. Hang in there!

    April 10, 2011 at 20:00

Leave a Reply

