The life of a not so average girl doing not so average things.

Imagine Going Real Slow Down the Highway of Life With No Regrets

*Lyrics from “96,000” of the Original Broadway Soundtrack In The Heights.

You know how sometimes you feel like you must document a particularly spectacular moment for fear of losing it over the years? I have no fear of that happening to my memories of yesterday. It was one of the most incredible days that I can remember having. The magic was in the simplicity of the day, I think.

The day actually started with a continuation of a conversation from the night before:

Me: When we talk I feel like I could tell you anything, but I’m scared you’ll stop liking me the more you know me.

Nerdmate: I don’t think so. That isn’t how I work.

Me: How do you work?

Nerdmate: I like you. I’ve gotten to know you a little bit the past week. I still like you. I’m not gonna hold something against you.

Me: Not even if I’m damaged goods?

Nerdmate: No. No one is perfect.

Me: Ain’t that the truth.

Nerdmate: Yup. And I don’t expect anyone to be. I like you for you. That’s how it should be and that’s how it is and i want to get to know you better.

Me: You might be the first guy that I’ve felt honestly wanted to get to know me. I want you to know me better, but that will require some patience. I’ve built up a lot of walls over the years. Think you’re up to it?

Nerdmate: I’m a very patient guy.

That’s what I woke up to yesterday. It was such a relief for him to say that. Then we decided to spend the afternoon watching movies. He walked across campus, through the Snowmageddon 2011 I might add, to make sure that I made it safely to his dorm. Such a sweet guy. We watched The Terminal, because it’s his favorite movie and I hadn’t seen it yet. We sat next to each other, but didn’t touch the entire time. The whole time I was just dying for him to reach for my hand!

Well, we ended up not having time for a second movie, so we just headed to the Caf for dinner. Along the way, we decided to play in the snow. Neither of us had gloves, so our hands got really cold. He pulled a really smooth line at that point, “Here. I’ll hold them to keep them warm.”

Ok, so I didn’t REALLY count it as holding hands, because we were totally goofing off, but whatever. We sat next to each other for dinner, but he had a meeting that he had forgotten about, so he jetted off. Meanwhile, the girls had made plans for a group to hang out in one of the dorm lobbies and play games. I decided to head that way with them and await The Nerdmates promised text when he was done with this meeting. He was done by the time we actually got headed to the lobby and as he walked up next to me he reached out and took my hand right there in front of several of his ΦMA brothers.

I know, it sounds ridiculous, but I swear I almost melted right then and there.

We spent the next several hours playing Apples-To-Apples and Phase 10 and Spoons and other games of that variety. The entire time he was either holding my hand or had my feet in his lap. The best part was that we seemed to be totally comfortable with each other, like we had been doing this for months if not years. I’ve never just been able to hang out with a guy and feel like that.

After the party had broken up, we went back to his dorm and watched August Rush. I was astonished. He is a Music Education major and had never seen this movie! Ridiculous. So, I took it upon myself to change this. This time around, he not only held my hand, but I rested my head on his shoulder and he then rested his head on mine.

We didn’t get to the end of the movie, though, so when he gets out of Opera rehearsal(which will HOPEFULLY be very soon) we’re going to finish the movie.

Have I mentioned that I have been exceedingly happy the last week or two? I definitely think he has something to do with this.

-Kay

9 responses

  1. Did we decide on Dinoman?

    This post makes me do this :~) Well, apart from the fact that my head’s not sideways.

    February 3, 2011 at 07:34

    • Kay

      Dinoman,
      Yes! I definitely think Dinoman is a keeper. 🙂
      Also, I’m not sure what that face is supposed to mean! Haha.
      Kay

      February 3, 2011 at 10:52

  2. asdjfklajgwoigklasjdfowjf. seriously. i smiled the entire time i was reading this. 😀 love you girl.

    February 3, 2011 at 12:24

  3. Did we decide on Dinoman?

    It means it makes me smile. With a nose.

    February 3, 2011 at 19:24

    • Kay

      Brittany- Giiirl. I love you too.
      Dinoman- OH! I see. Haha! The nose threw me off.

      February 3, 2011 at 22:50

  4. Dinoman

    I have a nose. You have a nose. Why should my happy face not have a nose? He’s not He-who-must-not-be-named, you know.

    February 3, 2011 at 23:06

    • Kay

      Bahahahaha!!!! Dinoman! I didn’t know you were an HP fan! Huzzah!

      February 4, 2011 at 19:41

  5. Dinoman

    How could that have not come up? SAD. I most definitely am.

    February 5, 2011 at 12:05

    • Kay

      Dinoman,
      I love you for so many reasons, but your coolness factor just increased MUCHO GRANDE!

      February 5, 2011 at 12:42

Leave a Reply

