The life of a not so average girl doing not so average things.

Enter The Nerdmate

It’s been far too long since my last post and I’m very sorry for that, but things here are going exceedingly well and for the first time in quite a while I’m busy living my life and being happy.

There’s a new player to the game, The NerdMate, and he is fantastic. The last few days we’ve been spending time together and talking more and more. It started last Friday after Induction. A group of us were hanging out and the gang was teasing about my new Frat Daughter being “A Miracle Jesus Baby.” A couple of the guys were trying to set me up with The Nerdmate to be my frat husband and it worked. The Nerdmate and I said our I Do’s and now we are a happy little family.

So The Nerdmate and I start talking, just general get to know you kind of conversation and the more I find out about him the more I realize we have in common. It’s insane the number of shared interests we have. We talked about books and gaming and music, it turns out that we are nerdy in all the same ways. Which I thought was impossible. He would text me asking how my day was and how class was going, and at some point along the way I started to hope that his interest in me was more than just as his Greek wife.

It got the point where we were talking every moment that we could. Thursday I even sat with him at lunch. Friday I had what for me was an incredibly brave moment and asked him if he was going to the Stedman movie that night. He said he hadn’t made any plans and I asked if he’d like to go. He said yes. It’s difficult to describe how awesome Friday night was. There were a lot of little things that went into it that made it spectacular that just sound silly unless you were the two of us.

Afterward I asked if it had been a date and his response was better than a yes. He said, “ummm…. Well, I wouldn’t consider that a date, but it would make my day if you would let me take you on one.”

I’m not sure I’ve stopped smiling since.Yesterday we talked all day and had dinner together(just in the caf, but it was still together) and made plans for what we’re going to do on this date of ours. Dinner and then our own personal movie night. I can’t wait.

Today, today was just perfect. We spent the day together. I went to his room and we both worked on homework(Yes, we legitimately worked on homework). We also spent a good deal of time looking at my astronomy star chart. He was making fun of the constellations and we just had a lot of fun. It sounds dumb, but he just makes me laugh so much. My favorite part of today was probably when he I started to explain how to use it and he joined me there on the floor.

When homework was finished(His not mine. I was way too wrapped up in what was going on to be able to focus on school), we just talked. We spent roughly five hours just talking, getting to know each other a little better. There was very little physical contact between the two of us, and it was almost more intimate that way. I’ve never been in a relationship like this. Nothing is official, he’s not my boy friend and I’m not his girl friend(But let me tell you: I’m not opposed to those options). I guess this is what people call dating? I think? That’s the thing, I realized I’ve never “dated” anyone. I don’t feel like The Nerdmate is in any hurry to define what we are, we really are just taking it one day at a time and it is so nice that way. I don’t feel like I’m under any pressure and yet I know I have this amazing guy there for me.

People have been asking all weekend what’s different about me. I don’t know what to tell them other than my smiling is finally finding it’s way back into my eyes. It’s a wonderful feeling. I’m not saying that The Nerdmate has brought me happiness, only you can grant yourself permission to be happy, but I AM happy. Even if things don’t work out the way I necessarily want them too, I have a feeling that he and I are going to become very good friends. We’re just to similar for it to be any other way.

-Kay

5 responses

  1. BigSis

    Yay!! I must meet him! Anyone who can bring back your twinkle is fine by me. And you are right sometimes just talking is more intimate than touching.

    January 31, 2011 at 10:40

    • Kay

      I think the whole family will like him a lot, but we’re not at that “Meet The Family” point yet. If you were to accidentally run into him on campus, however…. Well, we wouldn’t want to be rude, would we? 😉

      February 1, 2011 at 09:18

  2. BigSis

    Hhmmm… how can this be arranged? Thinking, thinking, thinking

    February 1, 2011 at 09:37

  3. Kay, I am BEYOND happy for you! You are such an amazing woman, and are so deserving of something like this. I expect to see more reports, missy! 😉
    Sounds like you’re gettin’ your swag back, in a manner of speakin’. I’m SO, SO, SO, SO, SO happy for you! Love youuu.

    February 1, 2011 at 10:28

    • Kay

      BigSis- I’m sure we’ll come up with something. 😉 Love you!
      Dreamer- Thank you! You and he seem to be in agreement about me. He continues to tell me that I’m a very special kind of person. It’s very sweet. I love you very much, friend!

      February 2, 2011 at 20:09

Leave a Reply

