The life of a not so average girl doing not so average things.

Good Blogging Weather

On days like today, when it has managed to snow nonstop for the last 18hours and there is about 10inches on the ground, I just want to stay tucked up in bed with my nice fuzzy(and yes, polka dotted) blanket, computer, iPod, and book close at hand, and not have to step foot outside unless I suddenly feel the desire to have a snowball fight or go sledding. But no, classes were not canceled, which kind of amazes me, because in Missouri they cancel school for a dusting.

ANYWAY, we’re not going to talk about the weather, because for the first time in my existence(I can’t be sure on that, but I’m pretty sure) I’m upset about snow.  I didn’t make it to KC on Tuesday and darn it, if I don’t make it to KC tomorrow evening, I’m going to be very upset. Partially, because I’m going to run out of food I can eat, which would be no bueno no matter how you spin it.

Ok, done with weather talk.

Life is good. I honestly don’t have a lot to say. Classes are going well. I think my World Religions Today is going to be my favorite this semester, which seems strange considering our focus is Religious Violence: Myth or Fact. It’s fascinating stuff! I never realized that, as violent as people think religion makes you, most wars in modern history are political wars, matters of State, but no one finds that odd… hmmm. There will be more posts on this topic in the months to come, I’m just sure of it.

I also am really enjoying Astronomy, despite the fact that last night I was pretty sure I was going to lose toes due to frostbite. I’m now going to share with you my favorite things from lecture last night:

Science is bound by rules, where Religion is not. Scientists must be able to test hypothesis, Religion cannot necessarily test it’s teachings.

Because light travels at a finite speed, the farther out you look, the farther back in time you see.

Ok, I started this post a few days ago and had to run off to do something and this is the first time I’ve really had to sit at my computer since. I have SO MUCH to post about, but I really need to catch some Zs, so I’ll post tomorrow hopefully. Have wonderful weekends, all!

-Kay

Leave a Reply

