The life of a not so average girl doing not so average things.

Welcoming The New Year

I have to be honest, last night started off a little sketchy. You see, a couple of days ago my dear Milton, a 95(my BIL says 97) Civic that I love and adore, had a little hiccup. Well, it turns out it wasn’t a little hiccup. The clutch is a complete disaster and Milton is in no condition to be driven until the clutch is replaced. Luckily, BrownMan is really good with cars and is going to help me out with that. Unfortunately, that still means I have a few weeks until he’s ready to roar again.

Anyhow, last night on my way to the Bestie’s New Year’s Eve party, Milton lost it right then and there on the highway. I sat in a cold parking lot for 45 minutes waiting for my wonderful dad to come pick me up. I just sat there thinking to myself about all the things this car situation was going to mess up. I was just sure that my night was completely ruined and that I was going to have absolutely no fun as per usual. Yes, I was a bit of a pessimist last night.

I turned out to be quite wrong, actually. I had loads of fun. I’m not sure I’ve ever laughed so hard before. Adult parties are way more fun than those thrown by teenagers and college kids! We played Taboo for most of the night and there are some stories that will be rehashed for many years to come. I was also very glad to have the honor of being present for Peanut’s first New Year celebration. He was totally adorable, even if the little bugger wouldn’t sleep.

Today was equally fun. BabyBro had his 10th birthday party today! Yay! We went lazer tagging and then watched Voyage of the Dawn Treader! Loads of fun, even if little boys can get a little annoying in large doses. The movie was pretty good, better than I anticipated. I’m nervous about the direction the directors are taking the plot. The little differences between the movies and books are growing larger and larger and I think they may end up changing some of the theologies within the story as a whole. This concerns me, but I rather hope I’m wrong on this count.

Tomorrow I have my first day of training at the new gig, so I’m pretty excited. I’m also a bit nervous, to be honest. I know I shouldn’t be, but rational thoughts are almost always out weighed by my irrational ones. I guess that’s just part of the fun of being me! Wish me luck friends!

-Kay

2 responses

  1. BrownMan

    It is a 97! 🙂

    January 2, 2011 at 01:02

    • Kay

      Whatever! Thanks for commenting, BrownMan! ^_^

      January 3, 2011 at 22:21

Leave a Reply

