The life of a not so average girl doing not so average things.

Motivation

I’m having trouble coming up with a decent post. There’s a lot going on right now, but I just can’t seem to make sense of it all.

I got a job today! I can tell you that. I’m now a sales representative for Vector Marketing which is connected with Cutco Cutlery. It’s not a glamorous job, but a broke college girl’s gotta do what a broke college girl’s gotta do. No one wants to hire someone who’s only here on break. This job will allowing me to make a little money over the course of the next week and a half and will guarantee a summer position. I figure something is better than nothing. And because I make my own appointments, this summer I can hold a second job as well.

L.A. and I haven’t spoken much since Christmas. I’m trying not to be concerned. A couple of days ago I asked if he was upset with me and he said I’ve been asking that a lot lately. I’m trying to avoid asking again. I’m pretty sure we’re still cool, he’s just been busy with other things. He told me yesterday that he’s made a new friend that he’s been hanging out with a lot. Again, I’m trying not to be too concerned. I’m happy for him, because he needs to be making friends out there, I just hope this isn’t more than a friendship. If it is, he’ll tell me and we’ll move on, right? That sounds simple enough.

Today I also had a voice lesson with this really awesome guy, Ben! Mr. P. introduced us and I’m so very thankful. It was a brilliant opportunity. Ben has amazing talent and is really a wonderful coach. I hope that maybe in the future(maybe with money made from my new job!) I can have more time to work with him. I feel like I learned so much just from my hour(ish) lesson. He helped me understand some new things technique-wise and introduced me to a new piece which I just love, I Will Be Loved Tonight. Mostly, I just plain had fun and I came out of the lesson actually feeling like I do have some talent. I think when I’m at school I jsut get so bogged down under the pressure of it all that I forget to have fun, I forget that I sing because I love it, not because of some scholarship. Yes, getting paid is a perk, but it’s not worth it if I don’t remember to enjoy the art.

I appologize that this post is a little ADD and that nothing terribly interesting was discussed. I just felt like I was neglecting you all. Hopefully I’ll come up with something truly fascinating to talk about soon. Here’s hoping.

-Kay

3 responses

  1. BigSis

    This post was perfect! You told us what is going on with you and that is what we are all here for! You don’t have to have something “truly fascinating” to say just to post. Also we don’t care about the ADD, we all have though days.

    😉

    December 30, 2010 at 09:38

    • Kay

      Thanks, BigSis! It helps to know that I don’t have to be brilliant all the time. 😉

      December 30, 2010 at 14:18

      • BigSis

        What are you talking about?! You are brilliant ALL of the time! Hehe

        December 30, 2010 at 15:54

Leave a Reply

