The life of a not so average girl doing not so average things.

Life Changing Decisions

Tomorrow is the first day of a very long and at times difficult process: losing weight. I’m not one who likes to talk about her weight or her health(although, other than being overweight, I’m fairly healthy). I just don’t think it’s kosher, but tomorrow starts the journey towards the rest of my life. I think that if I start being a little more open about these things, maybe over time they’ll be less scary. Also, as I lose weight, that will become a less touchy subject.

OKAY!

First, food:

I’ll be on a strict 900 calorie diet.

This first week I will be making accommodations for the holiday, so I will be eating 700 calories(approx.) of the food provided by my nutritionist and one meal of regular food. This one meal can consist of 2 portions of lean meat and 2 portions of vegetables from a list of suggested veggies.

After Christmas, I will only be eating food provided by my nutritionist:

Proti Max Vanilla Drink- 100cal

Cappuccino Mix- 80cal

Decaf Iced Tea with Lemon- 20cal

Sour Cream & Onion Soy Snacks-120cal

Chicken Noodle Soup(x2)- 90cal

BBQ Soy Snacks- 120cal

Soy Nuts- 180cal

Strawberry Creme Smoothie- 100cal

and 64+ ounces of water a day(which means I’ll be peeing all the time)

I will have 6 meals a day. Breakfast, morning snack, lunch, afternoon snack, dinner, and an evening snack. The idea is that by eating few calories at more points throughout the day, I will speed up my metabolism.

Second, Vitamins and other medicaitons:

Diethylpropin- 50mg

5-HTP- 200mg

Metabolism Essentials Multivitamin- 3 twice daily

Cal-6+Mag. -1 twice daily

Salt Tabs- 3616mg

St. John’s Wort- 600mg

Ultra Green Tea- 800mg

Ultra Omega-3 – 4 once daily

Vitamin D-3 -6000 IU

Chromium- 3 once daily

These dosages are spread out throughout my day so as not to throw my system into shock and to be the most efficient.

And Third, Exercise:

20-35 minutes 4-5 times a week of aerobic exercise(walking, jogging, biking, etc)

10 or more minutes 2 times a week of strength training(weight lifting, Pilates, stretch bands, etc)

And 5,000+ steps a day

All to be recorded in my Weight Loss Journal. It’s going to be a struggle, but I know I can do it. This may not be what you want to read about, but it’s going to be affecting my life a lot in the next several months, so there will probably be plenty about it in this blog. Please bear with me. All I ask is for a little support and encouragement. I’m going to need it.

Starting weight: 292lbs.

Yes, there was a big cringe there.

-Kay

6 responses

  1. Kristel

    I am proud of you! 😀 I spent the summer working out, and while I didn’t lose any actual pounds, my clothes did become much looser.

    If you need an exercise buddy, I’d be happy to help–I’ve been needing to get back on an exercise routine (okayed by the doc) but haven’t managed to motivate myself yet. *lol*

    ~K

    December 21, 2010 at 01:35

    • Kay

      Kristel-
      Oh how I love first time posters! Welcome to A day In The Life family. 😉 Thank you so much! I really do view you and one of my role models, so encouragement from you means an awful lot to me. Maybe we can go walking together or hit up the cardio room when we get back to campus, whatever your doc approves. Until then, enjoy your break!
      -Kay

      December 21, 2010 at 08:25

  2. BigSis

    First off… I am SO proud of you! It is a very hard journey, as you know well. The first step to actually achieving you goal is being open about it!

    Secondly… I am always here for encouragement. You know my last year has been filled with The same struggle. I spent 2 or more hours, at the doctors office, once a month all year.

    Thirdly… I can’t wait to see the change!! You are a beautiful young woman already but watch out, hot momma on her way!!

    Love you!

    December 21, 2010 at 17:52

    • Kay

      BigSis- Yay for your first post on the blog!!! I know you’ve been reading this for a while, but I’m excited that you commented! Thanks for all of your support. I know you’ll be here for me when this all gets hard. Love you!
      -Kay

      December 22, 2010 at 20:58

  3. I am way proud of you, Kay. I know you can do this; you’re one of the strongest people I know. Kudos to you for doing this, though! I’ll be following you the whole way. 🙂

    December 31, 2010 at 12:47

    • Kay

      Thank you so much, friend! You’ve no idea what that kind of affirmation of support means to me. Love you!

      January 1, 2011 at 16:27

Leave a Reply

