The life of a not so average girl doing not so average things.

SAI Christmas Concert

As the title would suggest, this evening was the Sigma Alpha Iota Christmas Concert here at CMU. I jsut have to say, we pulled it off fabulously! My favorite piece was a rendition of Auld Lang Syne arranged by a former professor on campus, the late Dr. Paul Drummond. The piece is incredibly beautiful and it means a lot to many of us here at Central. It was great to be able to sing alongside my sisters and alongside our Phi Mu Alpha brothers. It was especially great to share our gift and love of music with the new students in the Conservatory.

Right now, despite the fact that I’m creeping up on the 1 o’clock hour, I am feeling really good. I just finished paper #2 of 5 and am realizing how if I can just get my act together for the time being, I can make it through the rest of this semester. I also decided against auditioning for the musical to take place next semester. I will have even more weight on my shoulders and will have my hands full enough without adding a musical to boot. I talked to Dr. W. and he fully understood my sentiment and thanked me for taking those things into consideration. He was me to be able to manage effectively and he also wants to keep me as healthy as possible.

This morning I recieved a comment from TeacherMommy on the previous post. Her suggestion was to kicking the end of term in the bum was to cling to my classes and homework as I have been unable to cling to everything else. She said that some of her worst times were when she had the best grades. I think this is an excellent idea! It will also give me a break from cleaning so dang much! (Speaking of, my room is currently a disaster…)

It’s been a long day and the next few will be even longer, I imagine, but I made it. There is a Superchick song called One More and the lyrics are as follows:

It feels like I have lost this fight
They think that I am staying down
But I’m not giving up tonight
Tonight the wall is coming down
I am stronger than my fears
This is the mountain that I climb
Got 100 steps to go
Tonight I’ll make it 99

One more
Go one more
Yeah, yeah
Don’t stop now
Go one more
Yeah, yeah
One more

Go one more
Go one more
Yeah, yeah

I have everything to lose
By not getting up to fight
I might get used to giving up
So I am showing up tonight
I am my own enemy
The battle fought within my mind
If I can overcome step one
I can face the 99

I think this will be my mantra until after Final Exams are complete. I hope all of you do the same.

-Kay

Leave a Reply

