The life of a not so average girl doing not so average things.

Quote Of The Day

Yesterday I posted this quote from my Philosophy professor:

“If you were walking through the woods and came across a pocket watch, would you know it as man made? How then can you look on the universe in all it’s complexity and deny the existence of a creator.” –O.A. Robinson

I really love this quote, so I posted it as my FB status. I haven’t decided if that was a mistake or not. There have been several long and extensive comments left by four or five people(mostly male coincidentally enough, but that’s a discussion for another day). I’m really loving the discussion aspect of it, because that’s what I do! I discuss religion and philosophy for a hobby and one day for a living. The only problem with this has become the fact that not everyone knows how to verbalize their thinking without getting upset.

I am the kind of person that remains cool for quite a while in these discussions, because I have trained myself to do so. I also intentionally engage with people who disagree with me so that I can check the strength of my argument, find the holes in my argument so that I can then fix them, etc, etc. I love hearing what other people think about the origins of the universe, the existence of God, and so on and so forth. I fully believe that an uninformed faith is no faith at all.

I once had a professor tell me, “Most people get to college and lose God, because of their education. That doesn’t have to be the case. I am a theologian, because my education taught me more about God and my faith in Him than I ever thought possible before that point.”

Education and science and philosophy are only the downfall of a belief if you let them be. I’m not saying that you need to accept every opinion you hear about something, but I am saying that you need to be more careful. Take the time to really listen to what the other view point has to say, because it may teach you a little something about what you yourself believe.

Now I have to go finish my homework that I haven’t done yet, because I’ve been so caught up in this debate/discussion.

CHORALE TOUR IN 1.5ISH DAYS!!!!!

-Kay

Leave a Reply

