The life of a not so average girl doing not so average things.

Defining Moment

I’ve been working on this all semester. I think it may finally be finished. I don’t usually post my poetry on my blog, but I know that the reason I’ve been re-living the events of my past is because this semester I’ve been as close as I’ve ever been to being back to that state of complete hopelessness. I haven’t been able to finish it until recently, because only recently did the hope begin to return. Feel free to critique just as you would anyone else’s art. Thank you.

-Kay


A frozen wasteland lies before me.

I stand in a cold doorway.

Snow falls softly.

The wind is playful,

Causing archs and twirls.

The wintry nigth calls my name.

I answer as I step over the threshold.

The door behind me closes softly,

Gently pushing me onward.

The ground is crunchy, hard.

Ice lays beneath the fluff.

I stumble, I fall.

My gloveless hands go numb.

The world is silent

Except for my pounding heart

And quiet footsteps.

I pause to consider

The poetic beauty of this sight,

How the weather echos

The state of my heart.

A small hand takes hold of mine.

A soft voice asks where I’m going.

I turn.

A tear streaks my cheek.

My arms find his.

He asks me to stay;

He’s already lost one sister,

His world has already fallen apart.

He is too young to suffer such grief,

So I will try to carry his burden

For as long as my soul can bear it.

His small body is shaking,

His lips are turning blue.

I lift my baby brother

And carry him back to bed.

This is not the night

To throw away his love.

2 responses

  1. That’s beautiful 🙂

    October 25, 2010 at 20:24

    • Kay

      Thank you!

      October 26, 2010 at 09:38

Leave a Reply

