The life of a not so average girl doing not so average things.

Our Unconventional Make-shift Family

It was a fabulous weekend! Friday night, FrenchHorn Guy’s mom, Mama O, came and stayed the night. She brought us a huge bag of fresh, perfectly salted tortilla chips and salsa! We enjoyed them while we watched Robin Hood. It was brilliant!

Also that evening, I talked to WhiteKnight’s dad. He’s been reading my blog and called to talk. I really needed that and it meant a lot to me, because even through everything that is going on with his son and I, he cares. He cares in a way that not even the BioFam seem to. We talked a lot about warning signs of depression and about how scary it all is. We talked about my attempted suicide when I was in high school and how much neither of us wants me to get to that place again. He said, “You’re too good of a person to do that.” I don’t know if he realized it, but on this end of the phone I was a mess. I was crying and discussing things that I barely talk about with a man that for so long I’ve just wanted to like me.  I don’t know if he disapproves of me being with WK, I don’t even really know if he likes me(though I highly suspect that he does), but he continues to be there for me as a brother in Christ and as a mentor.

Today, The Bestie, The Cool Mom, Peanut, and J came to visit. They drove 2.5 hours just to spend a couple hours of Family Weekend with me. I knew I had missed them, but hadn’t really realized the extent of it until they walked through the church doors. I’m sure I had an idiotic smile on my face for the rest of the service, which would have been quite obvious as I was in the choir loft at the front of the sanctuary. We spent the day doing incredibly mundane things. It was an average, quiet, boring Sunday afternoon here in Fayette, but they spent it with me anyway. I hope they realize how special they are to me, especially The Bestie. She is my lifeline and I would not be the person I am today, heck, I might not be here today at all, if not for her. I love her so much. It was hard to walk away when they left this afternoon, but I think I may be a little stronger for it. The Bestie is always doing that, helping me get stronger.

Thank you to those of you who love on me. It means more than you could ever know.

-Kay

3 responses

  1. Bestie

    You make me stronger too. And I never want you to get depressed like you were ever again. Seriously, if you start feeling that way at all, go over to the nurse, he will help you out and get you the resources that you need. I love you Kay.

    September 27, 2010 at 09:15

  2. Oh, those people who love on you. They are the best. Lifelines indeed. I’m very glad you have so many!

    September 27, 2010 at 09:32

  3. Bestie- I can’t make any promises. I don’t know that I’m in the clear, in fact, I’m probably not. But this weekend was good, great even, and today has been good so far. I hope this is a sign of an upward swing.
    TM- Thank you! This applies to my blogging friends as well.

    September 27, 2010 at 17:21

Leave a Reply

