The life of a not so average girl doing not so average things.

You Keep Me Spinning Around

This is Family Weekend here  on campus. I don’t know what it’s like at other universities, but Family Weekend is a big deal around here. Of course, my family isn’t coming because Little Man has a camp out that the BioFam is going to. That’s cool, I’m kind of used to them not coming to stuff. That’s how it was in high school, that’s how it is here. No worries.

What IS a big deal for me this weekend is all the ways I get to be involved. Now, you would maybe not think of me as the school spirit type based on my friends, and appearance, etc. The truth is, I love being involved.

Tonight is the Fine Arts Celebration. Almost everyone involved in band, choir, and theatre come to this. It’s a nice dinner where we get dress up and awards are handed out, that kind of thing. He doesn’t know it yet, but FrenchHorn Guy is receiving an award this evening. Shh!

Tomorrow, I’m helping out the Humanities department. I will be doing a few readings from our campus publication, Inscape. I’m excited! I was specifically asked to read by DrProfessorManGuy on our way out of class yesterday(I’m helping tutor a Comp class).

After that, ΣAI has a SongFest at 4pm. We have to share a time frame of about 30 minutes with the ΦMA SongFest. We absolutely love these opportunities, because usually it’s The Boys that are at our SongFests and vice verse. On days like Family Weekend, parents show up to watch us sing about our fraternities. Even some parents that don’t belong to us. It’s really neat.

If you think the madness is over after that, you’d be wrong. The reason we have only 30 minutes for both SongFests is because there is a football game tomorrow evening. The band has a call time of 4:45. They have to go get ready and warm up, yada yada yada(No offense Bandies). And guess what! ΣAI has been asked to sing the National Anthem! This never happens, so we Lovely Ladies In Red are super excited! Be excited for us!

Then on Sunday, Chorale sings in worship at Linn. It will be my first performance with TheElite. Dr. W says we’re going to make people cry. The Bestie, Peanut, and The Cool Mom are coming up that day too! I’ve been looking forward to this for a while! I miss them so much and this will be the first time they’ll be on campus for any amount of time. It has yet to be determined whether they we be here for worship or not, but either way I’m excited!

As you can read, this weekend is jam-packed with lots of exciting things! I’ll try to keep you updated on how it’s going, but it may have to wait until Monday. So…

HAVE A WONDERFUL WEEKEND!

-Kay

Leave a Reply

