The life of a not so average girl doing not so average things.

Straight Hair And Converse

It’s Sunday morning!

Today is the day that the Lord has made! Let us rejoice and be glad in it!

Unfortunately, I can not make it to worship this morning. I woke up in time to go to St. Paul’s this morning, but it’s raining which makes me not want to walk there. I’d prefer not to get sick. And since St. Paul’s service starts at 11am, I didn’t have time to get ready in time to go to Linn which starts at 10am.

*Insert large frowny face here*

SO I’m having my very own worship service in my dorm room. The only attendees of my congregation are the Holy Spirit and myself.

I started by praising the Lord in Music. I’m listening to one of my favorite albums: Acappella: Act Of God. The voice is the truest of instruments, because it’s not man-made. It’s a gift of God that an individual is born with. Yes, it has to be developed, but the hardware was installed when we were in the womb.

This morning I also celebrated God’s love by having cinnamon Chex with soy milk and a cup of coffee in my favorite mug. You already know about my love of cinnamon Chex, so let me tell you about my mug. Because my beautiful Bestie worked at a paint-your-own pottery shop, I got some wicked stuff. It also helps that Bestie and The Cool Mom are way talented when their creative juices are flowing, which is basically all the time. Last Christmas, The Cool Mom painted a mug for me! The outside has a black base coat with bright colors dripping down the mug. The inside has the black dripping over the white base with the bright colors dripping over as well. As if that isn’t cool enough, The Cool Mom used stickers or something to leave the white pottery show so that it reads “Sing, Dance, Live!”

This mug is a celebration of God’s love for me, because it is a reminder of how much the Bestie’s family loves me. In the times that my own family has failed me, they have been there to pick me up. They are one of the largest blessings that I have been bestowed with. I love them more than words can speak.

This afternoon is Sister Bonding for ΣAI. I’m rocking straight hair and converse, because on the Lord’s day, I’m going to be myself. This is the person I’ve been shaped into,  a girl with a not so pretty past, but I am loved.

The Lord is my Shepherd, I shall not want. I love him with my whole heart, body, and mind.

-Kay

Leave a Reply

