The life of a not so average girl doing not so average things.

I LOVE WEDNESDAYS!!!

Yes, my friends, today is Wednesday. I’m sure you’re all wondering why I love Wednesdays so much. Well, I’ll tell you then. It is in fact because on Wednesdays I have the joy and privilege of attending BOTH the Jane Austen book club AND philosophy club.

Yes, yes, yes. I am THAT much of a nerd. And let me tell you something, I LIKE IT!

Philosophy club was particularly interesting. We started by watching a video by Martha Nussbaum. We then debated a few particular aspects of libertarianism. I think the consensus was that we didn’t agree with it on the whole, but perhaps pieces of it.

Then we moved to Just War. That was interesting in and of itself, because we had a former Army type individual, Political Boy,  in the midst, and yet he was arguing things that I’m fairly certain the Army would frown upon. Then Dilbert promptly switched us back over to our debate on Libertarianism from whence the warfare debate stemmed.

From there we moved to sexism. I tried to just sit back and watch the show, I even said that. But being the only female in the room, Dilbert has to call me out. I even tried to steer my argument that the public at large is sexist away from the topic of the pulpit. But alas! It was not meant to be. Political Boy just had to take it there! So what do I do? I gave ’em everything I’ve got.

Actually, I really didn’t. I didn’t want to get into a theological debate with the philosophy boys. And you know, I’m quite satisfied with that. It was a good evening.

I think now I’ll go read.

-Kay

Leave a Reply

