The life of a not so average girl doing not so average things.

He Touched My Heart

Today was good. Busy as all get out, but that’s my life for you.  I realized that Tuesday aren’t going to be terrible all the time A) because Navs and Chapel are on Tuesdays and B) because I’m going to practice saying “no” and start managing my time better. I have to have down time, just a few minutes in the day for Kayla. Today was better than last week once I remembered that advice from The Cool Dad. He’s the one who taught me how to say “no” in high school when I found myself doing too much. It was good advice and he’ll admonish me when he hears that I forgot it. Oops!

In other news:

I had a totally awesome, completely amazing God Moment at The Navigators this evening! We were talking about how our relationship with God now differs from how it was in the Old Testament, in a time before Christ paid for our salvation. We were in small groups and our group was pretty productive in an all-over-the-board kind of way. One of those situations where there is really good discussion is happening but you go off on tangents and eventually come back to the original topic. That’s what we had going and it was really good.

I was contributing to the conversation and one of the things I said was about how because Christ died the worst possible death on the cross, he knows pain and suffering. Because of that, he can be our perfect comforter, the best parent ever. He is able to hold us in his arms and tell us that it’s going to get better and really mean it in an I’ve-been-there-and-know-from-experience way. All good and wonderful things, yes?

Of course “yes!”

Then we were together as a big group again and we were singing and Navs Guy was praying and talking to us about God’s goodness and that’s when God made life so much greater for me.  It was the best feeling I ever remember having. God filled me with such intense joy that there was water flowing from my eyeballs! My tearducts, technically speaking, but that’s beside the point. It was like God really was there holding me, telling me that he knows I hurt, but that things will get better. At the same time it was like he was shouting, “SILLY GIRL! DON’T YOU LISTEN TO YOURSELF WHEN YOU TELL THESE PEOPLE ALL THOSE WONDERFUL THINGS ABOUT ME?!?!”

For so long I have been sharing with people God’s love for them, telling them that God knows where you’re at in your life, as had been there too and wants to help you get through it. Why I wasn’t believing it in my heart of hearts is beyond comprehension! I cannot begin to describe this sensation of God’s goodness that filled me. Even though I had been cold, I was warm. I felt safe. You’re going to laugh, but it was like the sun, or maybe the son, was shinning out of my stomach region! I know that’s a crazy, very silly way to say that, but it was like all the best things in life, every good memory, the best smiles in the world, were filling my being.

No matter what I’m going through, God has been there. He suffered pain more unbearable than I can imagine. He was tempted by Satan. He knows where we’re coming from and desires that we ask for his help. He loves us so very much. It is the perfect love, unconditional love. He has given so much and will continue to give if you let him. Don’t be an idiot like me and let your head get away with not making the most base connections about being in relationship with Him. He’s waiting for you, will you run to his outstretched arms?

-Kay

3 responses

  1. Jay

    Kay,

    All I can say is thank you. This is wonderfully inspirational. I just want you to know I love you! And not only did this give me a warm feeling, it let me know everything is going to be alright. I’ve been having a rough patch myself, and this is exactly the thing I needed to hear. Thank you, sweetie.

    September 8, 2010 at 05:10

  2. Jay-
    I’m so glad! The goal of this blog was originally to talk about my internship this past summer, but when I got back to school I wanted to continue it. Now the goal is to share about my life, just a college girl that loves the Lord. I’m so excited to hear that this has touched someones life. Thank you for sharing.
    -Kay

    September 9, 2010 at 04:22

  3. Bestie

    He has the terrible habit of being right even when he isn’t around to be right. It’s horrible. 😛

    September 9, 2010 at 21:37

Leave a Reply

