The life of a not so average girl doing not so average things.

Those Crazy Gals In Red

OK! So, the reason you don’t know what I’m talking about is I HAVEN’T TOLD YOU YET!!! I know how you’re feeling right now. You’re thinking, “Just when I think I’ve figured someone out, I find out they’ve been keeping secrets! You’ll be happy to know that this isn’t some big, dark, creepy/scary secret.

I am a member of Sigma Alpha Iota. “What is that?” You might ask.  Some of you might think, “That sounds like one of those no good sororities.” Well, my friends, you’d be wrong. We are an international professional music fraternity. That’s right, I said FRATERNITY! We’re just that cool. From my experience with other Greek organizations, we act nothing like them. The closest we come are the Sigmas on campus and that’s only because they have a love for the fine art of BAKING! We really are a great group of young women who are interested and actively involved in music. Many are music majors, but there are also a significant amount of us who, like me, are studying in a field that is unrelated. We are also very active in our communities, we love service projects!

ANYWAY… tonight we had our first meeting of the year. It was great(other than the part wear I ripped out the bum of my jeans, that was purely unfortunate)! We talked about what we are going to do this year and what our Membership Recruitment Activities are going to be(get excited Freshmen!) and we ate candy provided by myself, Morale Officer In Training, and my good friend whom we shall call MO(Morale Officer). We also initiated NeighborS as our new Editor.

One thing that we, as SAIs, always do after meetings is a little thing we like to call Roses and Thorns. This is the time where we really come together as sisters. We talk about the good, the bad, and the REALLY ugly things that are going on in our lives. If you’ve been reading, you know that this was just what I’ve been needing. I love all of them and am especially thankful for those that stayed for Roses and Thorns this evening. We all have crappy things that happen to us, but we’re in this together and they definitely reminded me of that this evening. Thanks, Ladies.

Love & Roses

-Kay

Leave a Reply

