The life of a not so average girl doing not so average things.

The Train Keeps A Rollin’

It’s Wednesday evening now. Grandma Mary’s funeral services were two days ago. Although we will always miss her delicious food and her heart of gold, some of the sadness has passed. Enough anyway that I see what a privileged young woman I am. Grandma fed me every week day from the time I was able to eat “real” food until the I went to middle school and then again in high school when I volunteered to work at the day care. She was a member of Grandview United Methodist Church for 50+ years. She watched me grow and change and become the person I am today. I, one of “her kids”, was asked to help officiate at her memorial services. I tried to hold back the tears, to sit among the three other pastors and be strong, but the tears flowed anyway. Barbra and Mary Beth, two of Grandma’s daughters, said they didn’t mind, that it was good to know how much their mom meant to all of us.
At the graveside, I was asked to sing Amazing Grace. I can’t share with you how much that meant to me. It was the greatest honor of my life. To sing the favorite hymn of a woman that meant so much to me speaks more love to my soul that any other act I have encountered. But that was just like Grandma Mary, showing love to everyone around her in a way that was special to them. She always scoured the newspapers looking for the names of people she knew. When she would come across that name, she clipped the article, whether it was a family member, a church go-er, or a child in the daycare, the article went on her wall. I know that the program from Monday would be up there with the rest of my pictures from all these years; Kayla Kelly-Ministry Intern.
It seems sometimes like life should stop after the passing of a loved one, when my grandparents on my mother’s side died I felt that way. I suppose my ability to press on has developed with age, although it still is odd to continue with life as usual after someone so meaningful has left.
Yesterday, we had a no show again for Caretakers’ Club, but Luke and Bekah’s mom called to let me know the reason. Since I had some extra time, my mom and I went out to my little brother’s campfire. He attended Camp Naish as a Webelo 1 this year with my dad in tow. They went just the two of them, because their troop will be attending Naish later this summer while we are in Indianapolis. The campfire was great. The staff did skits and sang songs, all the things that fill my greatest memories of Girl Scout camping. The staff even sang the repeat-after-me-song, The Princess Pat. This was a childhood favorite for my older sister and I. The Boy Scouts changed it up a little and the motions were different, but it brought back fond memories, nonetheless.
All in all, it has been a good week. Busy and stressful and sad, but good. Tomorrow morning I go in for my wisdom teeth surgery. All four are coming out. My best friend tells me I’ll be fine, that I won’t be in much pain. I think she is overestimating my pain tolerance, God bless her. Either way, I’ll be out of commission for a few days, but I’ll update all of you adoring(who am I kidding?) fans sometime this weekend.

2 responses

  1. Sarah M.

    i love you best friend. I really hate it when you cry though, I made it through the entire funeral without crying, until i came to hug you. You did well though.

    July 16, 2010 at 21:07

    • I love you too, best friend. I hate seeing you cry too, just fyi. Sorry you had to see me cry, but you know how I am. Waterworks galore.

      July 17, 2010 at 02:24

Leave a Reply

